Go Back   Website Hosting - VPS Hosting - Domain Registration Ireland :: Blacknight > Technical Support > Direct Admin - Shared Linux

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 13-10-06, 10:22 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 14
Default Am I sending Spam?

Since I moved my dmain to Blacknigth I'm getting loads of weird spam messages. I keep getting mroe and more lately but a lot of a certain type.

Every day I get at least 5 emails, which are "Bounce Back" from emial address Il;ve never heard of, but it sppears as if they have been sent from my domain. *anything*@zascar.com

here is an example:

--

This is an automatically generated Delivery Status Notification.

Delivery to the following recipients failed.

varner@expresscap.com


Final-Recipient: rfc822;varner@expresscap.com
Action: failed
Status: 5.1.1


---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: Pete Stokes <lzpwxf@zascar.com>
To: varner@expresscap.com
Date: Tue, 10 Oct 2006 06:33:41 -0700
Subject: [BULK] outside

----------

This is then usually followed by some message about stock or pharmaceuticals etc

I thought perhaps there is a bot on my pc sending spam through my domain, but I go not use outlook etc I only use gmail.

Can anyone tell me what this might be?
Thanks
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 13-10-06, 10:24 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11
Default

Please forward this to support@blacknight.ie, in addition we require the email headers

# Open an e-mail message for example by double-clicking on it
# In the menu select View > Options
# you can select the headers with your mouse and type Ctrl-c to copy them. You can then compose a new message and paste them in with Ctrl-v.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 13-10-06, 10:28 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 14
Default

I use gmail so i thinki just click "show original - which then shows me this:

EDIT: removed due to it containing a lot of personal info

Last edited by blacknight; 13-10-06 at 12:33 PM. Reason: EDIT: removed due to it containing a lot of personal info
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 13-10-06, 10:31 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11
Default

It looks like your domain is either being spoofed or your have a contact form that has been abused.

For the former, there is nothing that we can do im afraid.

For the latter, you will need to ensure that you have some sanity checking going on in your contact form to prevent spammers abusing it. Have a look at our Email Contact Form in the Installatron on your DirectAdmin control panel
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 13-10-06, 12:31 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 14
Default

I don't have any contact forms!

How is my domina being Spoofed?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 13-10-06, 12:34 PM
Administrator
Site Admin
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Ireland
Posts: 389
Send a message via ICQ to blacknight Send a message via AIM to blacknight Send a message via MSN to blacknight Send a message via Skype™ to blacknight
Default

Do you have a "catchall" email setup?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 13-10-06, 01:31 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 14
Default

yes - info@zascar.com so everyhting is forwarded to my gmail

I can disable it I suppose.... don;t really get many emails, only really on the info one.

Last edited by zascar; 13-10-06 at 01:33 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 13-10-06, 01:34 PM
Administrator
Site Admin
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Ireland
Posts: 389
Send a message via ICQ to blacknight Send a message via AIM to blacknight Send a message via MSN to blacknight Send a message via Skype™ to blacknight
Default

If you remove the catchall and setup aliases for the addresses you actually use it will definitely help
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 16-10-06, 11:02 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 14
Default

Thanks that seems to hvae stopped the regular spam for the last few days anyway. Should I just gotget about this or is it still somehtign to worry about?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sending, spam

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spam quaranteen > full list danieldudek General Queries 1 05-04-07 10:10 AM
Spam Filtering nreynolds Helm - Shared Windows 2 05-04-07 05:17 AM
SquirrelMail Spam Issues RolloTamasi General Queries 1 02-07-05 03:49 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:10 AM.


VPS Hosting Web Hosting Ireland Blacknight Blog Blacknight Status

Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.7.3, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
Blacknight 2005 - 2008 | VPS Hosting

SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17